Stainless Steel Art (9)

by

Burin Bache’s Requests… 🙂

… Part One.

Here is Bryn Barnard’s dramatic cover for You Can Be the Stainless Steel Rat, where the Rat does indeed look pretty fierce.

Art: Bryn Barnard

Art: Bryn Barnard

This is the US edition, published by Ace in 1988.

And here are a couple of the interior illustrations from Astounding magazine from the second Stainless Steel Rat short story, ‘The Misplaced Battleship.’ The reason I’m including these rather than images from the first Rat story is because I couldn’t find my copy of the issue of Astounding with that story in… I’ll find it. Eventually.

Art: John Schoenher - Analog April 1960

Art: John Schoenherr - Astounding April 1960

I think the irate figure in the background here is Inskipp the Uncatchable, who has just been presented with the plans of the battleship Jim has discovered.

Artwork is by John Schoenherr, who also painted the cover image for the first edition of the Stainless Steel Rat novel, published in paperback by Pyramid in 1961, which I will post sometime soon.

Art: John Schoenher - Analog April 1960
Art: John Schoenherr – Astounding April 1960

I think this shows Jim bluffing his way – as an Admiral? – at the spaceport where the battleship is about to blast off. Or perhaps I’m misremembering… The expression on Jim’s face here is wonderful.

Unfortunately these jpegs don’t do justice to Schoenherr’s incredibly detailed line art.

2 Responses to “Stainless Steel Art (9)”

  1. Burin Bache Says:

    THANK YOU!!! 😀
    That is fantastic! Jim looks really great on those John Schoenherr drawings.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Second image is Jim’s landing on Cittanuvo as the boisterously wealthy “Grand Duke Sant’ Angelo.”

    “Buckling the fur cape around my shoulders with the platinum clasp, I stamped down the ramp.”

Leave a comment