Stainless Steel Art (22)

by

Two more Stainless Steel Rat covers from the German publisher Heyne, with artwork by Karel Thole. The first is from The Stainless Steel Rat Saves the World (1983) and the second from The Stainless Steel Rat for President.

Art: Karel Thole

Art: Karel Thole

In the second image either that nude girl is blowing up a rat-shaped balloon or, well, I’m not sure what she’s doing…😉

Art: Karel Thole

Art: Karel Thole

One Response to “Stainless Steel Art (22)”

  1. Burin Bache Says:

    Ähem, I think I have to correct you a little.
    The first cover is indeed „The Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge“. The German title „Rachezug im Kosmos“ can be translated as „Revenge campeign in comsos“ and was published first in 1974. At that time it was the second book of the SSR series. Later with the never books and with “A SSR is born” beeing the first now in the series (and timeframe) the whole series was re-published and this time „The SSR’s Revenge“ was titled „Stahlratte schlägt zurück“ which means „Steelrat strikes back“. That was in 1988. And now the book was the 4th of the series and no longer the 2nd. The cover was kept nevertheless.
    The frist release of „The Stainless Steel Rat“ in Germany was in 1966 as „Agenten im Kosmos“ (=Agents in cosmos). I once saw such a book and while I do not recall the cover at all I think it was mostly red with some abstract little figures wearing some kind of white spacesuit. That wasn’t a cover by Karel Thole. All later books published in Germany had covers by Karel Thole tho I think. I only own the later so called ‘2nd SSR-cycle’ as the SSR-series have been called Stahlratten-Zyklus here.
    In general I like the covers by Karel Thole and the one of ‘The SSR gets drafted’ is my fav, but the one of ‘The SSR for President’ really is a lil strange. And yes, I always thought of it as a balloon…..I hope my mum back then too.
    The cover of A SSR is born shows a naked girl riding on a huge rat by the way…😉

Leave a Reply

