Coming Soon…

by

Latest news on Return of the Stainless Steel Rat is that the first world edition will almost certainly be the Russian edition, as was the case with The SSR Joins the Circus:  the Russian edition will probably be out in December 2009, with a US edition early in 2010. No news of an English edition yet.

In the meantime, we’ll just have to entertain ourselves…🙂

I have plenty more covers lined up to post here – I have some more of the Russian covers from Harry; plus some more German covers, and a few more obscure pieces of SSR artwork. But what else would you like to see here?

I have some more of Harry’s comic artwork from the 1950s which I could post. I have some of the ‘true adventures’ pieces that appeared in magazines in the 1950s, including ‘He Threw Acid in My Face.’ Though I still haven’t tracked down ‘I Cut Off My Own Arm’…

I’m also thinking of putting up some more audio – I don’t feel brave enough to attempt a podcast as such, but I do have an interview with HH that I recorded a while back if anyone wants to hear it…

And I have a few more obscure short stories which we could give an airing, including one – possibly two – ‘lost’ HH stories which haven’t been listed in any of the bibliographies to date…

Or maybe you there’s something else you’d sooner see? If you’ve an idea for something that you’d want to see posted, then I’m open to suggestions.

Leave a comment, let me know what you’d like to see, and I’ll dig the stuff out and post it.

8 Responses to “Coming Soon…”

  1. Anthony Says:

    Well I have been enjoying the covers. Though I haven’t seen any of the covers that I have personally. But I am sure they aren’t as old. My favorite cover was from the first Rat book I ever read it was Stainless Steel Rat for President and it was an old red hardcover book. Anyways, keep posting the good stuff and keep us all informed on how the new book is shaping up. I can’t wait to read it. Happy Easter!

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      What editions do you have? Let me know the publisher and year, and I’ll see if I have the covers to scan… I don’t have every edition, but I have a fair few…🙂

  2. Eddie Says:

    I don’t know about anyone else but I would love to hear the interview. The first chapter of the new book would be good too, but that would probably prolong the agony of the wait.

  3. Richard Says:

    Hi!

    Just found your site and wanted to say keep up the good work! Its great to see all the stainless steel rat covers!

    Is there any more information on the new book as well as Ive been waiting for a new one since reading the Stainless Steel Rat Joins the Circus…

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      Hi Richard –

      I’ll update the ‘New RAT Book’ page whenever I have some new information: this is a static page listed in the navigation menu at the top right of the blog main page so is easier to find than a blog post.

      Major news I’ll also post as a blog entry too.

      My guess is we still have nine or ten months to wait to see an English language edition…

      – Paul

  4. Paul Bussey Says:

    My favourite covers for Harry’s books were all done by Peter Elson, who is sadly no more with us.

    Some sources say that Peter wasn’t particularly good with drawing people and his thing was much more in painting spaceship hardware, but I think his covers portray the characters well and the covers encouraged me to read the books in the first place.

    In reading about Peter Elson’s life it’s a shame he wasn’t recognised more for his work and apparently he was a bit of a recluse. It would be good to know the whereabouts the originals of his work now are, since I am sure they would fetch a good value!

    Anyone else out there a fan of Peter’s work? And what would you say was Peter’s best work done for Harry?

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      The Peter Elson covers for the Rat books and the Deathworld series are ones I remember most vividly, as they were the editions I first owned.

      He’s certainly best known for his paintings of hardware – they were the images which featured in the book Parallel Lines. A few of the other images, including the one from The Stainless Steel Rat appeared in a collection of SF artwork which I don’t remember the name of. It was one of the ones illustrated here under the heading ‘Illustrations for Illustrated Books’ I’m sure:

      http://www.innovari.it/peter%20elson%203.htm

      My understanding is that copyright of his artwork, and presumably any remaining original artwork, is held by Peter Elson’s sister, though I don’t have any other details.

Leave a Reply

