Stainless Steel Rat – New Book Update and Art (17)

by

I received an e-mail from Harry Harrison dated 17th March to say he’d completed a first draft of the new Rat book — still lots of work to do on it, but it’s good to hear so much of it is already completed…

Apologies to everyone who posted comments over the last few days and didn’t see them approved until today: I was afflicted with a splitting headache for a couple of days so stayed away from the computer screen. But over the last weekend I did go through some crates of books and dug out more obscure editions of HH books, plus some of the old magazines, so I have plenty of images for the coming weeks. I’ll also try and OCR some more odd text pieces too. 

Just over a month to go to the Nebula Awards weekend, when Harry Harrison will be officially dubbed (crowned? inaugurated?) as the Damon Knight Grand Master. Lots of interesting things going off related to this, which I shall report on nearer to the event.

Oops, this is starting to read like a news blog – let’s correct that by posting some Stainless Steel Rat artwork. Here are a couple of pieces from the Dutch editions published by Meulenhoff. These are two images I stole borrowed from De Boekenplank – an excellent site for information about Dutch editions of books by all manner of authors.

The first is from the 1974 edition of The Stainless Steel Rat and  The Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge. I don’t know who the artist is, but I like the wind-up Rat.

Meulenhoff, 1974. Art: ?

Meulenhoff, 1974. Art: ?

And the second image is from a book which contains The Stainless Steel Rat Saves the World and Planet of the Damned. Again, I have no artist details for this one.
Meulenhoff, 1976. Art: ?

Meulenhoff, 1976. Art: ?

6 Responses to “Stainless Steel Rat – New Book Update and Art (17)”

  1. HawaiianBrian Says:

    I don’t read as much SF as I used to. In fact, I hardly read any fiction at all these days. But I’m looking forward to this like you wouldn’t believe. I ‘discovered’ Harry relatively late in his career, and so I had what seemed at the time like an endless supply of his stories to look forward to. But now that I’ve read virtually everything that’s beenr elease, I’ve really missed the excitement of having a ‘new’ older book to read and the fun and wonder associated with a new Harry Harrison release. Presumably here we’re talking about an Autumn publishing date? Roll on spring and summer!

  2. Gavin Wigg Says:

    Harry – I’m insanely excited about your new SSR book! To fill the time since “SSR Joins the Circus” I’ve read your Deathworld series and a bunch of other random books. Thanks for coming back to do this SSR book – hopefully it won’t be the last!!!!

  3. Burin Bache Says:

    The wind-up rat cover is funny!
    Any input yet on the new upcoming SRR-book? Maybe a working-title?😉

  4. Mark Says:

    I read most of the SSR books when I was a kid and was wondering if their was a compilation of all of the books in one?

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      Hi Mark –

      If you read Russian there’s a one-volume hardback of all ten books, but it’s quite heavy! I think they published the paperback edition in two volumes.

      In English there have only been two omnibus editions, which I’m sure you already know about. The Adventures of the Stainless Steel Rat has the first three novels as written, The Stainless Steel Rat, The SSR’s Revenge and The SRR Saves the World; then there is the more recent Stainless Steel Trio which has A SSR is Born, The SSR Gets Drafted, and The SSR Sings the Blues; which leaves The SSR for President, The SSR Goes the Hell, The SSR Wants You and The SSR Joines the Circus so far not part of a collection in English. Then there is the new Return of the Stainless Steel Rat due next year – which will mean even the Russian collection won’t be the complete series…🙂

  5. Mark Says:

    Paul,

    Thanks for the quick response. I read the majority of the books when I was a kid and really enjoyed them. I went to my local Barnes & Noble last night and they didn’t have a single one of the SSR books which really surprised me. I remember going to a book store, at the local mall, when I was a kid and they had all of them. I’m hoping that when the new book is released, and possibly a movie from what I hear, that they all come out in one single collection.

    Mark

Leave a Reply

