Stainless Steel Art (11)

by

This is one of my favourite Stainless Steel Rat covers, because (a) I think it’s a great painting, and (b) this cover was on an edition of the book – a 1973 paperback from Sphere – which was the first Rat book I ever saw. I got a copy from my local library when I was 10 or 11, having just read Spaceship Medic, which was the first Harry Harrison novel I read.

I have a vague memory of seeing the original of this painting somewhere – maybe on the wall at the old Andromeda Bookshop in Birmingham?

Eddie Jones did some wonderful SF book covers – but for some reason Google doesn’t turn up very much about him.

The image below is from the Japanese edition of the book, published by Sanrio in 1978.

Art: Eddie Jones

Art: Eddie Jones

2 Responses to “Stainless Steel Art (11)”

  1. Burin Bache Says:

    Just – WOW!

  2. Martin Stockdale Says:

    Found a copy of this very version in my local second hand bookshop at the weekend, I’ve sent you a scan of it

Leave a Reply

