Return to Ashkelon

by

Writing about ‘The Streets of Ashkelon’ the other day reminded me of a couple of great cover images I came across while researching the HH bibliography.

The first is by Jim Burns, who has had a long association with Harry Harrison since they originally collaborated on Planet Story. Jim is also, in my opinion, one of the finest artists in the world. The image here is almost as haunting as the story.

Art: Jim Burns

Art: Jim Burns

The second image is, I think, from a Greek edition of a collection of Harry Harrison’s stories, which included the short story under a translation of it’s variant title, ‘An Alien Agony.’ At least, I think it did: I’m typing this from memory… For some reason I find this image really disturbing, and therefore very effective.

Art: ?

Art: ?

One Response to “Return to Ashkelon”

  1. Paul Tomlinson Says:

    I should have said in the post above that the Jim Burns image is from the cover for the Harry Harrison short story collection Two Tales and Eight Tomorrows, published by Sphere in the UK in 1976.

Leave a Reply

