Stainless Steel Art (2)

by

Rats! Two of them. The first by Jill Baumann from the 1986 Bantam SF Book Club edition of A Stainless Steel Rat is Born, and the second by a Mr. Harry Harrison from the 1971 Faber edition of The Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge.

Art: Jill Baumann

Art: Jill Baumann

 

Art: Harry Harrison

Art: Harry Harrison

5 Responses to “Stainless Steel Art (2)”

  1. Burin Bache Says:

    Awww great! I hope there are more to come!
    Especially the reall old ones (including that from the You can be the SSR-game)!!

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      Definitely more to come – I’m trying to make sure I have decent scans and artist details for them before I post them, though I’ll post some as ‘unknowns’ and ask people to let me know who the artist is.

      Which version of the ‘You Can Be the SSR’ are you thinking of? The US edition had a nice cover – one of a series – which I’ll post sometime soon; the UK one had a slightly naff cover – which was also used for a computer game – but had the bonus of interior illustrations.

      I’ll also dig out the old ARES board game and scan the image of the Rat from that too…

  2. Burin Bache Says:

    Oh, I really dunno. I just know this tiny greenish one from Harry’s official homepage. It looks pretty old….I mean classic!

  3. Burin Bache Says:

    This one: http://www.iol.ie/~carrollm/hh/covers/n02-20b.jpg
    The SSR never looked fiercer, lol.

    • Paul Tomlinson Says:

      This is one of the Bryn Barnard covers – I have the book, so will do a decent scan of it and post it in the near future… though I already have a few lined up ready to go, so it’ll be a few days…

Leave a Reply

