Remembering Harry Harrison

by

Harry Harrison passed away a year ago today.

This morning I received a message from S. Gruzov which said: Сегодня исполняется годовщина смерти Гарри Гаррисона – выдающийся человек. Помянем его.

Google translates that to: Today marks the anniversary of the death of Harry Harrison – an outstanding person. Pray for him.

I’m not a hundred per cent sure Harry would have wanted our prayers, but I think he’d appreciate people remembering him today.

Read from a favourite HH novel or short story, and recommend something of Harry’s to a friend – that way we can keep his memory alive forever.

– Paul

6 Responses to “Remembering Harry Harrison”

  1. Dmitriy Says:

    Well, google has made a mistake. “Помянем” is old russian word for “Remember”. Still, prayers are not the thing to be waved off))
    Harry has entered my life as source of unforgettable emotions, amazing experience and wonderful dreams that I had while discovering his worlds as a child. I still remember the first Harri’s book I’ve read. Remember its cover, remember the thrill of anticipation while turning next page. I will hardly ever forget those days, those discoveries, those emotions. So never will I forget Harry.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Remember.

  3. Moira Harrison Says:

    Today is the first anniversary of my father’s passing. He is very much in my thoughts and I miss him terribly. So heartening to see that he is still in the hearts of his fans.
    Moira Harrison

  4. morelenmir Says:

    I cannot believe it is already a year.

    I am just glad I got the opportunity to pose him a few questions and communicate a little through this site. I would not have forgiven myself if I had missed that chance as I did with Tolkien and Asimov. I can thank modern technology for that – technology who’s inventors’ minds I am sure Harry’s work and imagination helped shape.

  5. Brian Says:

    I still can’t believe he has gone and there will never be a new HH novel. No more Rat especially! :( Hopefully there’s something in the archive and I believe a memoir is forthcoming, which should be fascinating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

