Harry Harrison 1925 -2012

by
Harry Harrison - Photo courtesy of Moira Harrison

Harry Harrison

Harry Harrison passed away in the early hours of Wednesday 15th August.

I will write more shortly, but right now I can’t find the words…

If you would like to leave a message or a remembrance of Harry, then please leave a comment on this post or send a message via the Contact Us page. We will pass on all messages to Harry’s family.

—-

Edit:

Harry Harrison’s daughter Moira has written a tribute, which you can read here.

The New York Times published its obituary of Harry Harrison 18th August. It appears on their website here: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/18/books/harry-harrison-a-prolific-writer-of-satiric-science-fiction-dies-at-87.html

Christopher Priest has written an obituary for The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2012/aug/15/harry-harrison. It was published in the print edition of the newspaper dated 16th August 2012.

The Times newspaper published its obituary 18th August. Online version available to subscribers only.

Le Monde published an obituary 22nd August. Online version available to subscribers only.

The Independent newspaper published its obituary 25th August. Online version available here.

1,188 Responses to “Harry Harrison 1925 -2012”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Shocked and saddened! Reading Ratty tonight and still loving it.

  2. John Marshall Says:

    I only just found out about Harry’s passing (via the Bill movie). I am deeply saddened. My first hero was The Stainless Steel Rat, and there are elements of it and Harry’s other stories that I carry with me to this day.

    I was also shocked to realise he had moved to my home town! Oh, Harry, how I wish I’d met you – I’m not an effusive fan, I’d have quietly thanked you and shuffled away embarrassed, never explaining the positive impact you had on me as I was growing up. Thank you for entertaining and educating me.

  3. Сергей Says:

    Я увекрен, что Гарри Гаррисон написал правду про Джима ди Гриза и Язона дин Альта. И было это реально в какой то галактике, далёкой от нас. Я русский, но у нас поэт Пушкин сказал, что пишет не он а вдохновляет его Муза и кто то даёт ему текст. И некоторые писатели это подтвердили, наши русские. Потому думаю, что история с Джимом ди Гризом вполне реальна,Потому что диктовали ему Высшие Силы, только произошла она в другой галактике, на других планетах. Это тоже фантастика, но она мне очень нравится.

  4. Andreas Vibe Alchemica Says:

    POKOISIA S MIROM MOY LUBIMIY PISATEL I Y4ITEL….RIP

  5. PoeWar - Make Room for Harry Harrison and Please Don’t Eat Him Says:

    […] Harry Harrison News Blog […]

  6. Dmitriy Says:

    Я помню книгу Гарри, которая впервые попала мне в руки. Помню когда, помню какая, помню как она выглядела. И, конечно же, помню те необыкновенные эмоции и переживания, котрые мне дарили его книги. Они – часть моей жизни. А стало быть и Гарри тоже. Я рад и горд, что одну из моих книг украшает его автограф.

    • Сергей Says:

      Сегодня годовщина смерти Гарри Гаррисона – выдающийся человек. Помянем его.

  7. Thorsten Says:

    You enriched my life with fantastic adventures, Harry. Thank you!

  8. Phil Steed Says:

    After reading Harry on and off for 30 years, I just accidently discovered the Tony Hawkin books and went looking for more when I found out Harry had died. I don’t know how I missed the news but I am genuinely saddened by the loss of this great writier – he brought humour to sci-fi where none existed before. RIP Harry.

  9. Rob Says:

    Just found out today – you’ll be missed Harry – the Stainless Steel Rat series were what got me into sci-fi.

  10. bevice Says:

    Rest in peace, Harry. Thanks for your books.

  11. Magda, Poland Says:

    I just found out about the death of Mr Harry. He was a great writer. His books were very important to me. I read all when I was in high school. And now I wanted to read them again and I came across this sad information.
    I offer heartfelt condolences to the family.

  12. SSR Says:

    Disappointed with myself for not sensing that a supernova had disappeared from my galaxy until now. Harry shaped my view of this and other worlds in my early years . With BIll Hicks, RonnieDio and Zappa gone too who will save us now?

  13. Сергей Грузов Says:

    Россия, как всегда, спасет всех. Это вам SSR

  14. alex Says:

    вечная тебе память. любил твои книги

  15. Sheikh Islam Says:

    Belated condolences, Harry Harrison is my favourite author, his Deathworld, Stainless Steel Rat and Bill series have been with me since I first read them and I also loved his Eden series. I always felt an affinity with Harry, his books revealing him to be warm and humane, with a brilliant sense of humour. R.I.P.

  16. Pra Jay Says:

    I’m reading the hammer and the cross trilogy now!

  17. Harry Harrison (our galactic hero) 1925 – 2012 | Traveller RPG Blog | The Zhodani Base Says:

    […] Harrison has passed away. […]

  18. Дмитрий Инконгнито Says:

    Mr. Harry Harrison, was my favorite American science fiction writer, science fiction writer, I very much regret that he will no longer write his works of science fiction, I am very sad that he is no longer with us. Mr. Harry Harrison, rest in peace. You are always in our hearts. We will always remember and love you.
    Dmitry, Crimea, Russia.

  19. Bill Bailey Says:

    I write because he did. I aspire to write half as well by writing twice as long. It’s what you do against a fararri when your best offering is a tank. I am now on my seventh novel.

    • Gareth Owens Says:

      Harry once leant over to me in a pub and said “They just reprinted thirty-one of my novels today” … He just, y’know, dropped it into conversation, as “oh I almost forgot” sort of thing.
      So, keep that tank rumbling, drop it a cog, and give it some welly

Leave a comment