Stainless Steel Art (4)

by

Time for another Rat, I think. This image made a brief appearance on the main page of the Official Harry Harrison Website, but we took it down because Harry didn’t like it. Or rather, he didn’t like the red eyes of the Rat, as they made him look kind of evil, which isn’t what the Rat is really about, which was a fair comment. Originally there was going to be a gun in the Rat’s hand, but that was beyond my artistic capabilities at the time… : )

I recycled this image as the cover to the Harry Harrison bibliography. If I’d thought about it at the time, I’d have changed the eye to a pale blue one, but I forgot. Honest…

Art: Paul Tomlinson

Art: Paul Tomlinson

The following image is, according to my notes, from the Hungarian (Magyar) edition of The Stainless Steel Rat. I’m not sure whether this is a recent cover or an older one. I’ve no idea who the artist is, I’m afraid: add a comment if you know…

And hello to the Hungarian fans I met in Budapest in June 2006 when Harry was guest of honour at the Eurocon there: we had a great time! So hi to Peter Michaleczky, Zsuzsanna Tóth (Cyberina), ‘Ben Gunn,’ Lazlo, Jun Miyazaki… I know I’m missing some names here, so hello to everyone else we met!

Art: ?

Art: ?

3 Responses to “Stainless Steel Art (4)”

  1. HawaiianBrian Says:

    It never occurred to me until now that you did the art for the HH bibliography Paul. Great job.

  2. klapanciusz Says:

    Hello,

    Just finished Make Room! Make Room! in Hungarian, this was my first HH book, and I loved it! One of the reasons I like sci-fi is the “sci” part of it – both the social and the technological aspects, and reading a book written in 1966 talking about the overpopulation and slums in 1999 is fascinating.

    I can try to figure out the artist for this cover on the Hungarian Internet forums, if you’re still interested, let me know.

    thanks
    k. (from Bray:))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

